School Council

School Councils play a key role in Victorian government schools.

School Councils are groups who make decisions that set the direction of the school in the best interest of the students. The work of the School Council includes governance and decisions on the Strategic Plan, financial activities, facilities, and policy.

The objectives of a school council are set out in the school council’s constituting Order and section 2.3.4 of the Education and Training Reform Act and are to:

  • assist in the efficient governance of the school
  • ensure that its decisions affecting students of the school are made having regard, as a primary consideration, to the best interest of the students
  • enhance the educational opportunities of students at the school
  • ensure the school and the council complies with any requirements of the Education and Training Reform Act, the Education and Training Reform Regulations, a Ministerial Order or a direction, guideline or policy issued under the Education and Training Reform Act

Council membership consists of:

  • the principal, who is the executive officer
  • parents who are chosen through an election
  • at least one school or Department of Education & Training (DET) staff member

APS School Council

The Auburn Primary School Council consists of twelve members in total: eight parent members and four Department of Education & Training (DET) members including the Principal. Councillors serve a two-year term, with half the Council standing for election each year.

Nominations for School Council are called during Term 1 via Compass. Elections, involving the whole school community, are held if the number of nominations exceeds the number of vacancies on Council.

As a school community, we value diversity and inclusivity. We invite all parents to consider involvement in this important governing body of our school. Each member brings their own valuable life skills and knowledge to the role.

All School Council members can be contacted via the school’s email address, and questions regarding Council can be addressed to either James Haviland (President) or Tim Sawalaga (Principal).


51 Rathmines Rd Hawthorn East VIC 3123Google map

Auburn Primary School acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands that are used by the School, and we pay our respects to their Elders past, present, and emerging.